Sarfaraz hopeful Champions Trophy victory will rejuvenate worldwide cricket in Pakistan

Solenn Plantier
Juin 19, 2017

Pakistan crushed defending champions India by 180 runs at The Oval to win the Champions Trophy for the first time on Sunday.

Kohli named an unchanged team for the match while Pakistan paceman Mohammad Amir returns to the lineup after missing the semi-final victory over England through injury.

Talking about team changes - Mohammad Amir returned to replace debutant Rumman Raees while the Indian squad remained unchanged.

This is the second match between the sub-continent rivals at this year's tournament, with India having thrashed Pakistan in their opening group outing. Fakhar Zaman must be thanking his stars as he survives a caught behind dismissal as Bumrah oversteps the line and bowls a no-ball. gets an edge off a no-ball.

Fakhar and Azhar produced a stand of 128, the first consecutive opening century partnership by Pakistan in 14 years.

The momentum remained with Pakistan as Hafeez pummelled three sixes and four fours, putting on an unbroken 71 with Imad Wasim (25no) who enjoyed a remarkable slice of luck when a delivery from Bumrah bounced forcefully off his wicket without dislodging a bail.

India was the lopsided 4-9 favorite by English bookmakers to win a record third Trophy in a record fourth final, but Pakistan blew away all predictions and expectations with a win of stunning ease.

To add insult to injury, India bowled 13 wides and three no-balls in what was a woeful day for all, save Bhuvneshwar Kumar (1/44 in 10 overs). Mohammed Amir dismantled the top order, dismissing Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli and Shikhar Dhawan with pace and swing.

India had defeated Pakistan in the final of the inaugural World T20 tournament in South Africa to lift the title.

# 89* by Fakhar Zaman is the highest by a Pakistan player in ICC finals.

There was a still a seat-of-the-pants element to Pakistan's progress, though, and it was not the greatest surprise when the stand ended with a run-out mix-up in which both batsmen were stranded at the same end.

Leg spinner Shadab Khan trapped Yuvraj Singh right in front but the umpire denied Pakistan's appeal. Azhar Ali and Fakhar Zaman have brought up their fifties as Pakistan are off to a flying start in an all important final. On the other side, Azhar Ali and Mohammad Hafeez scored individual fifties while Babar Azam notched up 46 in the process.

D'autres rapports CampDesrEcrues

Discuter de cet article