234 votes cast in TN for presidential poll

Evrard Martin
Июля 17, 2017

The voting for the Presidential polls in underway and will last till 5:00 p.m. As per the population census, each MLA in Tamil Nadu has about 176 votes.

Karunanidhi did not vote owing to his health condition, while the R.K. Nagar Assembly seat remains vacant following the death of former Chief Minister J. Jayalalithaa. He is undergoing treatment in a city hospital.

Tamil Nadu Chief Minister K. Palaniswami was the first to cast the vote, and was followed by Speaker P. Dhanapal, DMK's M.K. Stalin, former Chief Minister O. Panneerselvam and others.

Similarly, brisk polling was also witnessed in neighbouring Puducherry.

There are two candidates in the fray for the coveted post - National Democratic Alliance (NDA) candidate Ram Nath Kovind and United Progressive Alliance (UPA) candidate Meira Kumar.

It was then reported that the 232 legislators of Tamil Nadu had cast their votes very quickly. President Pranab Mukherjee's term is expiring on July 25.

D'autres rapports

Discuter de cet article