Two jailed Maharashtra NCP legislators cast votes

Xavier Trudeau
Juillet 18, 2017

Mumbai: Chief minister Devendra Fadnavis, jailed NCP leaders Chhagan Bhu-jbal and Ramesh Kadam were among the 287 of the 288 legislators who exercised their franchise for the presidential polls on Monday. Besides the MLAs, BJP Rajya Sabha MP from Pune Sanjay Kakde, who had sought prior permission, voted here instead of the Parliament. Independent MLA Kshitij Thakur was unable to cast his vote as he is out of the country. Bhujbal was brought in an ambulance, while Kadam in a police van.

Last month, the ailing Bhujbal had moved a Special Court in Mumbai seeking permission to go and cast his vote in the Presidential election which was granted despite stiff opposition by the prosecution.

"Kindly convey my namaskar to mothe saheb (NCP chief Sharad Pawar)". I want my innocence to be proved before I die.

Assembly Speaker Haribhau Bagde, former Speaker and NCP leader Dilip Walse-Patil, former minister Ajit Pawar, Leader of Opposition in the state legislature assembly Radhakrishna Vikhe-Patil and Leader of Opposition in the state legislature council Dhananjay Munde were among those who cast their votes. If I die before this is accomplished, people will believe I was guilty. "My only prayer is to keep me alive till I am able to prove my innocence", he said. Though they refused to speak to the media, Kadam indicated that he voted for Kovind.

Bhujbal, a senior NCP leader and an MLA from Yeola in Nashik, was arrested in March 2016, in cases of corruption including the Maharashtra Sadan scam.

D'autres rapports CampDesrEcrues

Discuter de cet article