Whincup breaks through for 105th win — Townsville Supercars

Alain Brian
Juillet 9, 2017

Ford star Scott McLaughlin's Supercars dominance looks set to continue after he smashed the clock and grabbed provisional pole position for Sunday's 200km race in Townsville.

Red Bull Holden Racing Team's Jamie Whincup has finally won a race in the 2017 Supercars Championship.

Whincup's first win for the season was the 105th of his career, bringing him level with Triple Eight Racing teammate Lowndes for the most victories in the category's history.

Just six points now separates Whincup from leader McLaughlin in the championship standings after 14 races.

"It took a while, what a relief", said Whincup.

"Trying to get a win this year has been bloody tough". As always, it was tough again.

"We had a tool to fight with today which was the main thing and pushed hard", Whincup said. The guys did a great job.

"The auto was quick and we gave it absolutely everything we had. Scotty's thing is a rocket but we dug deep and I'd like to think we deserve this one".

Pole-sitter McLaughlin had maintained the lead off the start, holding out David Reynolds at Turn 1 after a quick getaway for the Erebus Holden from third on the grid. That resulted in a 15-second penalty, which he was forced to serve on the back of his first stop.

McLaughlin battled the Townsville heat with a failed cool suit was content with second.

"I'm a lucky boy", McLaughlin said. He is so consistent it was only a matter of time. "Absolute champion drive - we had nothing for him".

The reigning champion held an effective third throughout, eventually finishing 7.3s behind his winning team-mate.

It was another rough day for Fabian Coulthard, who is now 158 points adrift of McLaughlin in the championship after a 21st place finish.

Despite the tough round, Coulthard is staying positive about returning to form.

Prodrive pair Mark Winterbottom and Chaz Mostert scored fourth and fifth respectively, each gaining a single place from their starting positions.

The loser in that was Reynolds, whose race pace did not match his qualifying speed and eventually finished 11th.

Garry Rogers Motorsport duo Garth Tander and James Moffat banked sixth and seventh.

Walkinshaw Racing's James Courtney finished eighth, breaking into the top 10 for the first time since the opening weekend in Adelaide.

Holden veteran Garth Tander and Nissan's Rick Kelly round out the top 10.

Tim Slade was the race's only retirement, succumbing to engine failure on lap 26.

D'autres rapports CampDesrEcrues

Discuter de cet article