Yuvraj, Ashwin, Jadeja not picked for SL limited-overs series

Xavier Trudeau
Août 13, 2017

The selectors also opted to rest the spin duo of R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja along with Umesh Yadav and Mohammad Shami, the team's frontline seamers during the Test series. Yuvraj has lost his place having tallied 109 runs in his last six ODI innings. Yuvraj Singh, who was struggling for the form lately has been dropped from the team. The series starts on August 20 and ends on September 3.

Rahul's inclusion means there will be four regular openers in the squad and it is likely that the Karnataka batsman will be playing in the middle order. However, he will vie for a spot with Pandey, Rahul and Kedar Jadhav. Axar, 23, is already in Sri Lanka with the Test team, as replacement for the suspended Jadeja.

Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal and Shardul Thakur have also been called upon in the absence of the prime bowlers. Dinesh Karthik, who earned a recall to the side during the Champions Trophy, and scored 52 runs in two matches during the West Indies tour that followed, was dropped. The final of Champions Trophy exposed India's slow bowling frailties. The only T20I will be played on September 6. This is the first time that Kohli will lead India in a limited-overs contest in the country.

India are set to play five One Day Internationals and one Twenty20 International, starting August 20, under the captaincy of Virat Kohli. Of the 150 they have played, 83 went in favour of India while in Sri Lanka, they are marginally behind the hosts, winning 23 of the 57 matches played.

D'autres rapports CampDesrEcrues

Discuter de cet article